Election Information
What is Governmental Affairs?
Getting Involved
Issues & Outcomes
Updates & Alerts
Guide to Officials
Election Information
Communicating with Officials
Legislative Links

 

Guide to Officials

About The Kansas Legislature
About The U.S. Congress
Directory of Local, State & Federal Elected Officials

City of Lenexa
Johnson County Commission
Kansas House of Representatives
Kansas Senate
State Offices
U.S. House of Representatives
U.S. Senate
National Offices

 

About the Kansas Legislature

The state legislature typically convenes the second week of January each year for a scheduled 90-day session, adjourning in early April. The legislature then reconvenes again in the last week of April for a short "veto session," a period when lawmakers reconsider bills that have been vetoed by the governor and take action on any unfinished business.

Currently there are 33 legislators that represent at least a portion of Johnson County - 25 members of the 125-member House of Representatives and 8 members of the 40-member Senate.

If you are a Johnson County resident and you are unsure who represents you in the Kansas legislature, contact the Johnson County Election Commission at (913) 782-3441. The Commission can quickly determine your senator or representative based on your address.

During the legislative session, state lawmakers may be contacted by mail by writing to:

The Honorable [Legislator's Name]
State House Room [Number]
300 S.W. 10th Avenue
Topeka, Kansas 66612

The salutation should read: Dear Senator [Last Name] or Dear Representative [Last Name].

Lawmakers can be contacted by phone either directly or by calling the State House switchboard at (785) 296-0111. The Johnson County Commission also sponsors a direct telephone service from citizens to area lawmakers and the Governor's Office. To utilize this service, call (913) 715-5000 between 8:00am and 5:00pm during the legislative session and ask the operator to forward your call.

The legislative reference section of the State Library operates a toll-free hotline to assist with general questions concerning the legislative session, including status of bills, calendars, journals, and committee agendas. To reach the hotline, call (800) 432-3924.

In addition, for more comprehensive information about the state legislature and its activities, including the full text of legislation and explanatory notes, rosters, calendars of the week's schedule, journals recapping previous business, contact information, statutes, and campaign finance data, citizens can explore the legislature's official website free-of-charge at www.kslegislature.org.

About the U.S. Congress

Unlike state legislatures, the U.S. Congress essentially meets year-round, usually recessing during the month of August and significant portions of January and December.

Currently there are three federal lawmakers that represent Johnson County in the U.S. Congress - one member of the 435-member U.S. House of Representatives and two members of the 100-member Senate.

If you are writing to a federal lawmaker, correspondence should be addressed to The Honorable [Name]. The salutation should read: Dear Senator [Last Name] or Dear Representative [Last Name].

Federal lawmakers may be contacted by phone by dialing the U.S. Capitol's main switchboard at (202) 224-3121 and asking the operator to forward your call.

For comprehensive information about the U.S. Congress and its activities, including the full text of legislation, rosters, calendars, and contact information, citizens can explore official congressional websites free-of-charge at http://thomas.loc.gov or www.senate.gov or www.house.gov.

return to top

Directory of Local, State & Federal Elected Officials

City of Lenexa


City of Lenexa
12350 W. 87th St Pkwy
Lenexa, Kansas 66215
(913) 477-7500 * Fax (913) 477-7569
www.lenexa.com


Mayor  
Michael A. Boehm (913) 477-7550
8522 Caenen Lake Court, 66215
mboehm@lenexa.com
(913) 894-0720

Ward 1      
Joe Karlin (913) 477-7550 Steve Lemons (913) 477-7550
17707 W. 83rd Terr. 66219
jkarlin@lenexa.com

(913) 599-0784

 

14204 W. 84th Terr. 66215
slemons@lenexa.com
(913) 492-2355
Ward 2      
Diane Linver (913) 477-7550 Thomas R. Nolte (913) 477-7550
20500 Mill Road 66220
dlinver@lenexa.com

(913) 441-8270

 

9646 Red Bud Lane 66220
tnolte@lenexa.com
(913) 390-9433
Ward 3      
Lou Serrone (913) 477-7550 Amy K. Slater (913) 477-7550
14906 W 82nd Terrace 66215
lserrone@lenexa.com

(913) 492-4434

 

8228 Halsey 66215
aslater@lenexa.com
(913) 492-1867
Ward 4      
Mandy Stuke (913) 477-7550 Andy Huckaba (913) 477-7550
13301 West 91st Street
mstuke@lenexa.com
(913) 492-9519 14432 W. 92nd Terrace 66215
ahuckaba@lenexa.com
(913) 485-3210

return to top

Johnson County Commission

111 S. Cherry, Suite 3300
Olathe, Kansas 66061
(913) 715-0430 * Fax (913) 715-0440
www.jocogov.org

Chairman  
Ed Eilert (913) 715-0500
8617 W. 88th Terr, O.P. 66212
ed.eilert@jocogov.org
 

1st District   2nd District  
Ron Shaffer (913) 715-0431 Jim Allen (913) 715-0432
4011 Homestead Dr. PV 66208
ron.shaffer@jocogov.org

 

 

14801 W. 60th St., Shawnee 66216
jim.allen@jocogov.org
 
3rd District   4th District  
Steve Klika (913) 715-0433 Jason Osterhaus (913) 715-0434
12701 Kessler St. O.P. 66213
steve.klika@jocogov.org

 

 

9306 Farley Lane, O.P. 66212
jason.osterhaus@jocogov.org
 
5th District   6th District  
Michael Ashcraft (913) 715-0435 John Toplikar (913) 715-0436
12642 Hallet, Olathe 66062
michael.ashcraft@jocogov.org
  507 E. Spruce, Olathe 66061
john.toplikar@jocogov.org
 

return to top

Kansas House of Representatives

Rep. Barbara Bollier-R                         District 21
State House Room 168-W                   (785) 296-7686
barbara.bollier@house.ks.gov
6910 Overhill Rd. Mission Hills 66208  (913) 485-2121
barbarabollier@gmail.com

Rep. Rob Bruchman-R                          District 20
State House Room 561-W                    (785) 296-7644
rob.bruchman@house.ks.gov
3512 W. 129th St., Leawood 66209   (913) 709-0766

Rep. Larry Campbell-R                         District 26
State House Room 452-S                    (785) 296-7632
larry.campbell@house.ks.gov
15803 S. Avalon, Olathe 66062           (913) 488-7278
larrylcampbell@sbcglobal.net

Rep. Stephanie Clayton-R                   District 19
State House Room 167-W                   (785) 296-7548
stephanie.clayton@house.ks.gov
9825 Woodson Dr, O.P. 66207            (913) 205-4970
stephaniesawyerclayton@gmail.com

Rep. Erin Davis-R                                District 15
State House Room 519-N                   (785) 296-3971
erin.davis@house.ks.gov
12018 S. Clinton, Olathe, 66061        (913) 768-6408
erin@reperindavis.com

Rep. Willie Dove-R                               District 38
State House Room 352-S                   (785) 296-7658
willie.dove@house.ks.gov
14715 Timber Ln, Bonner Springs 66012  (913) 909-5866
williedove@sunflower.net

Rep. Keith Esau-R                                District 14
State House Room 47-S                      (785) 296-7688
keith.esau@house.ks.gov
11702 S. Winchester, Olathe 66061    (913) 515-2135
repesau14@gmail.com

Rep. Linda Gallagher-R                        District 23
State House Room 167-W                   (785) 296-7548
linda.gallagher@house.ks.gov
7804 Monrovia, Lenexa 66216            (913) 631-3512
LJGallagher@kc.rr.com

Rep. Amanda Grosserode-R                 District 16
State House Room 274-W                   (785) 296-7659
amanda.grosserode@house.ks.gov
12601 W. 99th St., Lenexa 66215      (913) 438-2870
amanda@amanda4kansas.com

Rep. Brett Hildabrand-R                       District 17
State House Room 274-W                   (785) 296-7659
brett.hildabrand@house.ks.gov
16820 W. 67th St. Apt. 407, Shawnee 66217
(913) 449-6697
hildabrand2010@gmail.com

Rep. Mike Kiegerl-R                             District 121
State House Room 50-S                     (785) 296-7636
mike.kiegerl@house.ks.gov
2350 Golf Course Rd., Olathe 66061  (913) 764-3291
jus4smk@aol.com

Rep. Marvin Kleeb-R                            District 48
State House Room 185-N                    (785) 296-7680
marvin.kleeb@house.ks.gov
14206 Eby, O.P. 66221                       (913) 707-4535
marvin@marvinkleeb.com

Rep. Jerry Lunn-R                                District 28
State House Room 151-S                    (785) 296-7675
jerry.lunn@house.ks.gov
14512 Horton, O.P. 66223                  (816) 582-5268
jlunn@brushcreekpartners.com

Rep. Nancy Lusk-D                              District 22
State House Room 54-S                      (785) 296-7651
nancy.lusk@house.ks.gov
7700 W. 83rd St, O.P. 66204              (913) 648-2616
nancyluskforkansas@gmail.com

Rep. Charles Macheers-R                    District 39
State House Room 151-S                    (785) 296-7675
charles.macheers@house.ks.gov
21704 W. 57th Terr, Shawnee 66218 (913) 396-9662 charles@macheers.com

Rep. Craig McPherson-R                       District 8
State House Room 268-W                    (785) 296-7695
craig.mcpherson@house.ks.gov
11911 W. 143rd Terr., O.P. 66062
(913) 735-6804
craig@craigmcpherson.com

Rep. Ray Merrick-R                                District 27
State House Room 370-W                    (785) 296-2302
ray.merrick@house.ks.gov
6874 W. 164th Terr., Stilwell 66085    (913) 897-4014
merrickrf@sbcglobal.net

Rep. Melissa Rooker-R                          District 25
State House Room 168-W                     (785) 296-7686
melissa.rooker@house.ks.gov
4124 Brookridge Dr, Fairway 66205      (913) 961-1555
melissa@melissarooker.com

Rep. Jarrod Ousley-D                             District 24
State House Room 173-W                     (785) 296-7366
jarrod.ousley@house.ks.gov
6800 Farley, Merriam 66203                  (913) 735-0236
ousleyforkansas@gmail.com

Rep. Randy Powell-R                              District 30
State House Room 452-S                     (785) 296-5593
randy.powell@house.ks.gov
14481 W. 122nd St., Olathe 66062      (913) 210-2127
randy@randy-powell.com

Rep. John Rubin-R                                 District 18
State House Room 151-S                      (785) 296-7690
john.rubin@house.ks.gov
13803 W. 53rd St., Shawnee 66216     (913) 558-4967
rubinshaw@aol.com

Rep. Ron Ryckman, Jr-R                         District 78
State House Room 111-N                      (785) 296-5481
Ron.Ryckman@house.ks.gov
14234 W. 158th St, Olathe 66062        (913) 768-7760
ron@ronryckman.com

Rep. Scott Schwab-R                             District 49
State House Room 151-S                     (785) 296-7501
scott.schwab@house.ks.gov
14953 W. 140th Terr., Olathe 66062    (913) 302-7916
schwab@scottschwab.com

Rep. Bill Sutton-R                                  District 43
State House Room 168-W                    (785) 296-7676
bill.sutton@house.ks.gov
301 W. Westhoff Pl, Gardner 66030     (913) 488-1665
william.m.sutton@gmail.com

Rep. James Todd-R                                District 29
State House Room 268-W                    (785) 296-7695
james.todd@house.ks.gov
9812 W. 118th St, Apt. 3, O.P. 66210   (913) 568-8738
jameserictodd@gmail.com

 

return to top

Kansas Senate

Sen. Molly Baumgardner-R                   District 37
State House Room 224-E                    (785) 296-7368
molly.baumgardner@senate.ks.gov
29467 Masters Ct, Louisburg 66053   (913) 837-3521
molly@molly4kansas.com

Sen. Jim Denning-R                              District 8
State House Room 541-E                    (785) 296-7394
jim.denning@senate.ks.gov
8416 W. 115th St., O.P. 66210           (913) 345-9416 jdenning@discovervision.com

Sen. Julia Lynn-R                                 District 9
State House Room 445-S                    (785) 296-7382
julia.lynn@senate.ks.gov
18837 W. 115th Terr., Olathe 66061  (913) 832-5311
julia@senatorjulialynn.com

Sen. Jeff Melcher-R                              District 11
State House Room 541-E                    (785) 296-7301
jeff.melcher@senate.ks.gov
11424 Canterbury Cir, Leawood 66211    (913) 390-3931
jeff@melcherforsenate.com

Sen. Rob Olson-R                                 District 23
State House Room 236-E                    (785) 296-7358
robert.olson@senate.ks.gov
15944 S. Clairborne St., Olathe 66062 (913) 302-3135

Sen. Mary Pilcher Cook-R                     District 10
State House Room 441-E                    (785) 296-7362
mary.pilchercook@senate.ks.gov
13910 W. 58th Pl, Shawnee 66216    (913) 268-9306
mary@pilchercook.com

Sen. Greg Smith-R                               District 21
State House Room 441-E                    (785) 296-7367
greg.smith@senate.ks.gov
8605 Robinson, O.P. 66212                (913) 383-1574
greg4ks@gmail.com

Sen. Kay Wolf-R                                  District 7
State House Room 235-E                   (785) 296-7390
kay.wolf@senate.ks.gov
8339 Roe, Prairie Village 66207          (913) 710-8339
kaywolf@me.com

return to top

State Offices

Governor Sam Brownback-R
(785) 296-3232 Lt. Governor Jeff Colyer-R
(785) 296-2213
State Capitol Building,
300 S.W. 10th Ave, Topeka 66612
  State Capitol Building,
300 S.W. 10th Ave, Topeka 66612
 
governor@ks.gov   lt.governor@ks.gov  
       
Attorney General Derek Schmidt-R
(785) 296-2215 Secretary of State Kris Kobach-R
(785) 296-4564
Memorial Hall, 120 S.W. 10th Ave, Topeka 66612
general@ksag.org
  Memorial Hall, 120 S.W. 10th Ave, Topeka 66612
sos@sos.ks.gov
 
       
State Treasurer
Ron Estes-R
(785) 296-3171 Commissioner of Insurance
Ken Selzer-R
(785) 296-3071
900 SW Jackson, #201,
Topeka 66612
  420 SW 9th St.,
Topeka 66612
 
ron@treasurer.ks.gov   commissioner@ksinsurance.org  

 

return to top

U.S. House of Representatives

U.S. Representative Kevin Yoder-R
(202) 225-2865 Local Office:
(913) 621-0832
215 Cannon House Office Building
  7325 W. 79th St.  
Washington, D.C. 20515   Overland Park, Kansas 66204 Fax (913) 621-1533
http://yoder.house.gov
     

return to top

U.S. Senate

U.S. Senator Jerry Moran-R
(202) 224-6521 Local Office:
(913) 393-0711
361-A Russell Senate Office Building   23600 College Blvd. Suite 201  
Washington, D.C. 20510 Fax (202) 228-6966 Olathe, Kansas 66061 Fax (913) 768-1366
http://moran.senate.gov
     
       
U.S. Senator Pat Roberts-R
(202) 224-4774 Local Office:
(913) 451-9343
109 Hart Senate Office Building   11900 College Blvd, Suite 203  
Washington, D.C. 20510 Fax (202) 224-3514 Overland Park, Kansas 66210 Fax (913) 451-9446
http://roberts.senate.gov      

return to top

National Offices

U.S. President Barack Obama
U.S. Vice President Joseph Biden
White House Switchboard:
(202) 456-1414
The White House Comments: (202) 456-1111
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Fax: (202) 456-2461
Washington, DC 20500  
www.whitehouse.gov