Guide to Officials

About the Kansas Legislature

The state legislature typically convenes the second week of January each year for a scheduled 90-day session, adjourning in early April. The legislature then reconvenes again in the last week of April for a short “veto session,” a period when lawmakers reconsider bills that have been vetoed by the governor and take action on any unfinished business.

Currently there are 33 legislators that represent at least a portion of Johnson County – 25 members of the 125-member House of Representatives and 8 members of the 40-member Senate.

If you are a Johnson County resident and you are unsure who represents you in the Kansas legislature, contact the Johnson County Election Commission at (913) 715-6800. The Commission can quickly determine your senator or representative based on your address.

During the legislative session, state lawmakers may be contacted by mail by writing to:

The Honorable [Legislator’s Name]

State House Room [Number]

300 S.W. 10th Avenue

Topeka, Kansas 66612

The salutation should read: Dear Senator [Last Name] or Dear Representative [Last Name].

Lawmakers can be contacted by phone either directly or by calling the State House switchboard at (785) 296-0111. The Johnson County Commission also sponsors a direct telephone service from citizens to area lawmakers and the Governor’s Office. To utilize this service, call (913) 715-5000 between 8:00am and 5:00pm during the legislative session and ask the operator to forward your call.

The legislative reference section of the State Library operates a toll-free hotline to assist with general questions concerning the legislative session, including status of bills, calendars, journals, and committee agendas. To reach the hotline, call (800) 432-3924. Calls and questions are confidential.

In addition, for more comprehensive information about the state legislature and its activities, including the full text of legislation and explanatory notes, rosters, calendars of the week’s schedule, journals recapping previous business, contact information, statutes, and campaign finance data, citizens can explore the legislature’s official website free-of-charge at www.kslegislature.org.

About the U.S. Congress

Unlike state legislatures, the U.S. Congress essentially meets year-round, usually recessing during the month of August and significant portions of January and December.

Currently there are three federal lawmakers that represent Johnson County in the U.S. Congress – one member of the 435-member U.S. House of Representatives and two members of the 100-member Senate.

If you are writing to a federal lawmaker, correspondence should be addressed to The Honorable [Name]. The salutation should read: Dear Senator [Last Name] or Dear Representative [Last Name].

Federal lawmakers may be contacted by phone by dialing the U.S. Capitol’s main switchboard at (202) 224-3121 and asking the operator to forward your call.

For comprehensive information about the U.S. Congress and its activities, including the full text of legislation, rosters, calendars, and contact information, citizens can explore official congressional websites free-of-charge at www.congress.gov or www.senate.gov or www.house.gov.

Directory of Elected Officials

City of Lenexa

City of Lenexa
12350 W. 87th St Pkwy
Lenexa, Kansas 66215
(913) 477-7500 * Fax (913) 477-7569
www.lenexa.com

Mayor
Michael A. Boehm (913) 477-7550
8522 Caenen Lake Court, 66215
mboehm@lenexa.com
(913) 894-0720
Ward 1
Joe Karlin Steve Lemons
17707 W. 83rd Terr. 66219
jkarlin@lenexa.com
14204 W. 84th Terr. 66215
slemons@lenexa.com
(913) 477-7550 (913) 477-7550
(913) 599-0784 (913) 492-2355
Ward 2
Diane Linver Thomas R. Nolte
20500 Mill Road 66220
dlinver@lenexa.com
9646 Red Bud Lane 66220
tnolte@lenexa.com
(913) 477-7550 (913) 477-7550
(913) 441-8270 (913) 390-9433
Ward 3
Lou Serrone Amy K. Slater
14906 W 82nd Terrace 66215
lserrone@lenexa.com
8228 Halsey 66215
aslater@lenexa.com
(913) 477-7550 (913) 477-7550
(913) 492-4434 (913) 492-1867
Ward 4
Mandy Stuke Andy Huckaba
13301 West 91st Street
mstuke@lenexa.com
14432 W. 92nd Terrace 66215
ahuckaba@lenexa.com
(913) 477-7550 (913) 477-7550
(913) 492-9519 (913) 485-3210

Johnson County Commission
111 S. Cherry, Suite 3300
Olathe, Kansas 66061
(913) 715-0430
Fax (913) 715-0440
www.jocogov.org
Chairman
Ed Eilert
8617 W. 88th Terr, O.P.
66212
(913) 715-0500

ed.eilert@jocogov.org
1st District
Ron Shaffer
4011 Homestead Dr. P.V. 66208
(913) 715-0431
ron.shaffer@jocogov.org
2nd District
Jim Allen
14801 W. 60th St., Shawnee 66216
(913) 715-0432
jim.allen@jocogov.org
3rd District
Steve Klika
12701 Kessler St. O.P.66213
(913) 715-0433
steve.klika@jocogov.org
4th District
Jason Osterhaus
9306 Farley Lane, O.P. 66212
(913) 715-0434
jason.osterhaus@jocogov.org
5th District
Michael Ashcraft
12642 Hallet, Olathe 66062
(913) 715-0435 
michael.ashcraft@jocogov.org
6th District
Mike Brown
2300 W. Post Oak Rd., Olathe 66061
(913) 715-0436
mike.brown@jocogov.org

Kansas House of Representatives
District 8
Rep. Patty Markley-R
State House Room 165-W
(785) 296-7695
patty.markley@house.ks.gov
12312 Nieman Rd., O.P. 66213
(913) 709-5985
patty@pattymarkley.com
District 14
Rep. Keith Esau-R
State House Room 151-S
(785) 296-7688
keith.esau@house.ks.gov
11702 S. Winchester, Olathe 66061
(913) 515-2135
repesau14@gmail.com
District 15
Rep. Erin Davis-R
State House Room 151-S
(785) 296-7658
erin.davis@house.ks.gov
12018 S. Clinton, Olathe, 66061
(913) 271-1095
erin@reperindavis.com
District 16
Rep. Cindy Holscher-D
State House Room 173-W
(785) 296-7659
cindy.holscher@house.ks.gov
12345 Westgate, O.P. 66213
(913) 766-9790
cindyforkansas@gmail.com
District 17
Rep. Tom Cox-R
State House Room 165-W
(785) 296-7331
tom.cox@house.ks.gov
13510 W. 72nd St., Shawnee 66216
(913) 593-7464
tom@tom-cox.org
District 18
Rep. Cindy Neighbor-D
State House Room 43-S
(785) 296-7690
cindy.neighbor@house.ks.gov
10405 W. 52nd Terr., Shawnee 66203
(913) 268-9061
cindyneighbor@aol.com
District 19
Rep. Stephanie Clayton-R
State House Room 512-N
(785) 296-7548
stephanie.clayton@house.ks.gov
9825 Woodson Dr, O.P. 66207
(913) 205-4970
stephaniesawyerclayton@gmail.com
District 20
Rep. Jan Kessinger-R
State House Room 268-W
(785) 296-7436
jan.kessinger@house.ks.gov
12605 Walmer, O.P. 66209
(913) 338-3937
Jan@Kessinger4kansas.org
District 21
Rep. Jerry Stogsdill-D
State House Room 452-S
(785) 296-7692
jerry.stogsdill@house.ks.gov
4414 Tomahawk Rd., Prairie Village 66208
(913) 384-3393
jws4414@aol.com
District 22
Rep. Nancy Lusk-D
State House Room 54-S
(785) 296-7651
nancy.lusk@house.ks.gov
7700 W. 83rd St, O.P. 66204
(913) 648-2616
nancyluskforkansas@gmail.com
District 23
Rep. Linda Gallagher-R
State House Room 187-N
(785) 296-7482
linda.gallagher@house.ks.gov
7804 Monrovia, Lenexa 66216
(913) 631-3512
LJGallagher@kc.rr.com
District 24
Rep. Jarrod Ousley-D
State House Room 452-S
(785) 296-7366
jarrod.ousley@house.ks.gov
6800 Farley, Merriam 66203
(913) 735-0236
ousleyforkansas@gmail.com
District 25
Rep. Melissa Rooker-R
State House Room 352-S
(785) 296-7686
melissa.rooker@house.ks.gov
4125 Brookridge Dr., Fairway 66205
(913) 384-7371
melissa@melissarooker.com
District 26
Rep. Larry Campbell-R
State House Room 286-N
(785) 296-7632
larry.campbell@house.ks.gov
15954 Murlen #352, Olathe 66062
(913) 488-7278
larrylcampbell@sbcglobal.net
District 27
Rep. Sean Tarwater Sr.-R
State House Room 268-W
(785) 296-7685
sean.tarwater@house.ks.gov
16006 Meadow Ln., Stilwell 66085
(816) 729-7827
seantarwater@gmail.com
District 28
Rep. Joy Koesten-R
State House Room 268-W
(785) 296-7646
joy.koesten@house.ks.gov
3310 W. 137th St., Leawood 66224
(913) 972-7883
jkoesten@gmail.com
District 29
Rep. Brett Parker-D
State House Room 451-S
(785) 296-5413
brett.parker@house.ks.gov
10619 Mastin St., Apt. C, O.P.  66212
(913) 735-6812
parkerforkansas@gmail.com
District 30
Rep. Randy Powell-R
State House Room 459-W
(785) 296-5593
randy.powell@house.ks.gov
14481 W. 122nd St., Olathe 66062
(913) 461-6215
randy@randy-powell.com
District 38
Rep. Willie Dove-R
State House Room 149-S
(785) 296-7677
willie.dove@house.ks.gov
14715 Timber Ln, Bonner Springs 66012
(913) 909-5866
williedove321@att.net
District 39
Rep. Shelee Brim-R
State House Room 519-N
(785) 296-7675
shelee.brim@house.ks.gov
6756 Longview, Shawnee 66218
(913) 207-1557
sbrim39@gmail.com
District 43
Rep. Bill Sutton-R
State House Room 274-W
(785) 296-7676
bill.sutton@house.ks.gov
215 W. Park St., Gardner 66030
(913) 488-1665
bill@billsutton.us
District 48
Rep. Abraham Rafie-R
State House Room 519-N
(785) 296-7680
abraham.rafie@house.ks.gov
P.O. Box 23796, O.P. 66283
(785) 296-7780
abrahamrafie@gmail.com
District 49
Rep. Scott Schwab-R
State House Room 381-W
(785) 291-3500
scott.schwab@house.ks.gov
14953 W. 140th Terr., Olathe 66062
(913) 302-7916
schwab@scottschwab.com
District 78
Rep. Ron Ryckman, Jr-R
State House Room 368-W
(785) 296-2302
Ron.Ryckman@house.ks.gov
14234 W. 158th St, Olathe 66062
(913) 213-3930
ron@ronryckman.com
District 121
Rep. Mike Kiegerl-R
State House Room 512-N
(785) 296-7636
mike.kiegerl@house.ks.gov
2350 Golf Course Rd., Olathe 66061
(913) 764-3291
jus4smk@aol.com

Kansas Senate
District 7
Sen. Barbara Bollier-R
State House Room 237-E
(785) 296-7390
barbara.bollier@senate.ks.gov
6910 Overhill, Mission Hills 66208
(913) 485-2121
barbarabollier@gmail.com
District 8
Sen. Jim Denning-R
State House Room 330-E
(785) 296-2497
jim.denning@senate.ks.gov
8416 W. 115th St., O.P. 66210
(913) 345-9416
jdenning@discovervision.com
District 9
Sen. Julia Lynn-R
State House Room 445-S
(785) 296-7382
julia.lynn@senate.ks.gov
18837 W. 115th Terr., Olathe 66061
(913) 832-5311
julia@senatorjulialynn.com
District 10
Sen. Mary Pilcher Cook-R
State House Room 234-E
(785)296-7362
mary.pilchercook@senate.ks.gov
13910 W. 58th Pl, Shawnee 66216
(913) 396-9306
mary@pilchercook.com
District 11
Sen. John Skubal-R
State House Room 124-E
(785) 296-7301
john.skubal@senate.ks.gov
6503 W. 134th Terr., O.P. 66209
(913) 469-6641
skubal@kveng.com
District 21
Sen. Dinah Sykes-R
State House Room 237-E
(785) 296-7367
dinah.sykes@senate.ks.gov
10227 Theden Cir., Lenexa 66220
(913) 406-0053
dinah@dinahsykes.com
District 23
Sen. Rob Olson-R
State House Room 236-E
(785) 296-7358
rob.olson@senate.ks.gov
15944 S. Clairborne St., Olathe 66062
(913) 302-3135
District 37
Sen. Molly Baumgardner-R
State House Room 224-E
(785) 296-7368
molly.baumgardner@senate.ks.gov
29467 Masters Ct, Louisburg 66053
(913) 709-1069
molly@molly4kansas.com

State Offices
Governor
Sam Brownback-R
State Capitol Building,
300 S.W. 10th Ave,
Topeka 66612
(785) 296-3232
governor@ks.gov
Lt. Governor
Jeff Colyer-R
State Capitol Building,
300 S.W. 10th Ave,
Topeka 66612
(785) 296-2213
lt.governor@ks.gov
Attorney General
Derek Schmidt-R
Memorial Hall,
120 S.W. 10th Ave, Topeka 66612
(785) 296-2215
general@ksag.org
Secretary of State
Kris Kobach-R
Memorial Hall,
120 S.W. 10th Ave, Topeka 66612
(785) 296-4564
sos@sos.ks.gov
State Treasurer
Ron Estes-R
900 SW Jackson, #201,
Topeka 66612
(785) 296-3171
ron@treasurer.ks.gov
Commissioner of Insurance
Ken Selzer-R
420 SW 9th St.,
Topeka 66612
(785) 296-3071
commissioner@ksinsurance.org

U.S. House of Representatives
U.S. Representative
Kevin Yoder-R
215 Cannon House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515
(202) 225-2865
http://yoder.house.gov
Local Office:
7325 W. 79th St.
Overland Park, Kansas 66204
(913) 621-0832
Fax (913) 621-1533

U.S. Senate
U.S. Senator
Jerry Moran-R
521 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
(202) 224-6521
Fax (202) 228-6966
http://moran.senate.gov
Local Office:
23600 College Blvd. Suite 201
Olathe, Kansas 66061
(913) 393-0711
Fax (913) 768-1366
U.S. Senator
Pat Roberts-R
109 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
(202) 224-4774
Fax (202) 224-3514
http://roberts.senate.gov
Local Office:
11900 College Blvd, Suite 203
Overland Park, Kansas 66210
(913) 451-9343
Fax (913) 451-9446

National Offices
U.S. President Donald Trump
U.S. Vice President Mike Pence
White House Switchboard:
(202) 456-1414
The White House Comments: (202) 456-1111
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Fax: (202) 456-2461
Washington, DC 20500
www.whitehouse.gov

Lenexa Chamber on Twitter:

Celebrate Lenexa’s great business community at the Business Blast and Taste of the Chamber. June 8 from 4–7 p.m.… twitter.com/i/web/status/8…

Congratulations to Slim Chickens and WaterSide Residences on Quivira on their recent ribbon cuttings in Lenexa. pic.twitter.com/oKJq6MpAAB

In Topeka for Day 93 of the state legislative session--hoping lawmakers can make progress toward solutions! pic.twitter.com/q37war3810